Saturday, March 12, 2011

Waiting for news

We should know the draw for the group stages of the AFC President's Cup 2011 on Monday (14 March), as it will take place at 3pm in Kuala Lumpur and the president of Phnom Penh Crown, Rithy Samnang will be present, as his team will be representing Cambodia in the competition. Cambodia have also put their name into the hat as one of the countries wishing to host one of the group series of matches, alongwith Nepal and Myanmar. Teams from 12 member associations – Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Chinese Taipei, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan - will take part in three groups at the initial stage. The top two teams in each group qualify for the six team finals, which were hosted by Myanmar last season. Qualification to the competition is by clubs from Asian Football Confederation-affiliated countries which fall into the AFC's emerging nations category, whilst countries which are considered as mature and developing nations are entered into the AFC Champions League and the AFC Cup respectively.
The teams representing the 12 member countries are as follows:
Kyrgyzstan (Neftchi Kochkor-Ata), Tajikistan (FC Istiklol), Turkmenistan (FC Nebitchi), Bangladesh (Abahani Limited), Pakistan (Wapda FC), Bhutan (Yeedzin FC), Sri Lanka (Don Bosco Sports Club), Chinese Taipei (Taiwan Power Company), Palestine (Jabal Al-Mukaber Club), Cambodia (Phnom Penh Crown FC), Myanmar (Yadanarbon) and Nepal (Nepal Police Club).

No comments: