Sunday, August 22, 2010

The other winners

Joy unrestrained for Phnom Penh Crown. LtoR; Saidu, Nwakuna, Justine and Mpoko
Whilst Phnom Penh Crown collected the Metfone C-League trophy and the double cash prize as champions and 4th place league finishers of 54 million riels, every team in the C-League got in on the money with even relegated Wat Phnom and Chhma Khamo received 20 million riels apiece. BBU netted a cool 42 million as the 3rd place team (following their penalty success against Naga on Friday) as well as receiving the Fair Play award. 18-year-old Keo Sokngorn added the season's best player award to his championship winners medal, whilst his national teammate Sou Yaty, from Ministry of National Defense, picked up the best goalkeeper award. Top coach of the year went to Rith Dakar, who'd led his Preah Khan Reach team to the final as well as 3rd place in the regular league season. There was no catching Julius Ononiwu, who leapt to the top of the goalscorer's chart a few weeks ago and collected his Golden Boot award for his 25 goals for Kirivong Sok Sen Chey. One of the first to congratulate him was last season's award winner Prince Justine, who missed out on the final due to suspension. Last but not least the best refereeing team award went to Thong Chankeytha, Kuong Ly, Kimsy Pisal and Tuy Vichheka, who all participated in yesterday's final, and collect 4 million riels between them.
Golden Boot winner with 25 goals, Kirivong's Julius Ononiwu
Preah Khan's young coach Rith Dikar collected the best coach award
BBU had a successful season and collected 42 million riels to show for it
The Army goalkeeper Sou Yaty, who collected the best keeper award
Saturday's match officials were awarded the best refereeing team accolade. LtoR: Kuong Ly, Thong Chankeytha,Tuy Vichheka and Kimsy Pisal.

No comments: