Sunday, August 28, 2011

Crown capture the title

Three happy Crown faces after their 1-0 victory over PKR. LtoR: Tieng Tiny, Kingsley Njoku and Odion Obadin
Phnom Penh Crown are the 2011 Metfone C-League Champions. Their 1-0 win over Preah Khan Reach was enough to confirm their second consecutive championship, ahead of Naga Corp, who they meet in the final match of the season, next weekend. Kingsley Njoku headed the winning goal three minutes after the half-time interval in a game which Crown dominated and restricted their opponents to just two shots on target. PKR's Sar Sophea was much the busier of the keepers and had no chance when Njoku timed his run to perfection, meeting Sun Sopanha's corner with his forehead and powering his header into the unguarded net from six yards out. It was no more than Crown deserved. Their English head coach David Booth said after the game; "I'm very pleased for the players, they've worked very hard to achieve this. They have a good work ethic. They've tried to do everything I've asked of them. It's not easy to keep winning but they have. Every time you win there's more pressure to keep winning, but that's exactly what they've done. And they've got their reward. For me, it's a job done. I came here to win the league, so I'm happy."

No comments: