Sunday, September 4, 2011

Awards galore

Crown's Peng Bunchhay with his cheque for the Best Goalkeeper award
Prior to the presentation of the C-League championship cup to Phnom Penh Crown skipper Sun Sopanha, the rest of the end of season awards were handed out. The biggest shock of all was the award of the season's Best Player trophy to teenager Chea Samnang of Preah Khan Reach. Absolutely no-one could've seen that coming, chosen by the Football Federation officials, who decided to completely overlook the more obvious candidates like Kouch Sokumpheak, Sopanha and Odion Obadin and chose instead the young holding midfield player with the Military Police team. It was nothing short of completely clueless. The award to Julius Oiboh of the Top Scorer trophy was much more obvious, with the Naga hitman netting a record 28 league goals since joining the club at the start of the season. He's showed his power and his pace throughout the campaign and richly deserves his accolade. Best Coach goes to Naga's Prak Sovannara, almost by default as he's the only one who'd been in the job for the whole season, even though his team finished as runners-up. Crown's David Booth remained unbeaten in nine matches, winning eight of them, but that didn't sway the Federation judges. Best Goalkeeper rightly went to Crown stopper Peng Bunchhay, who with 11 clean sheets in 16 matches, collected his 2 million riels, but still can't convince the Cambodian national coach that he's worthy of a place in his squad. But then again, he's as equally clueless as the FFC officials. The best referee team went to Khuon Virak, who completely missed an obvious penalty for Crown in the final match, and his two linesmen Kim Pisal and Yien Kivatanak, and the 4th official, Thong Chankethya. The less said about them the better. Preah Khan Reach also picked up the Fair Play Award and a third place cheque as well.
Naga's Julius Oiboh scored 28 goals to collect the Top Scorer Golden Boot
FFC President Sao Sokha gives the season's Best Player, Chea Samnang, his bronze medal
The Best Referee Team. LtoR: Kivatanak, Chankethya, Virak, Pisal

No comments: