Thursday, April 19, 2012

A 2nd drop out

More news from the Group Stages of the AFC President's Cup, and teams are dropping out like exhausted marathon runners, without a ball being kicked in anger. The 2nd team to quit are Sri Lankan Champions Ratnam Sports Club, who've dipped out of Group C, which will be played in Tajikistan from 5-9 May, leaving just three teams to battle it out. The Bangladesh champions, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi had already refused to send their team to Pakistan in Group A on 8-12 May, citing security concerns as their reason for dropping out. The only group with its four teams still intact, is the one which will be played in Phnom Penh on 5, 7 and 9 May. That's Group B. More on the Group B matches in another post.

The AFC President's Cup groups are:
Group A (held in Pakistan): KRL (PAK), Taiwan Power (TPE), Erchim (MON).
Group B (held in Cambodia): Phnom Penh Crown (CAM), Dordoi (KGZ), Nepal Police (NEP), Yeezdin (BHU).
Group C (held in Tajikistan): FC Istiklol (TJK), Balkan (TKM), Al Amma’ri Youth (PLE).
The top two teams in each group will qualify for the final round, which will be played 24-30 September at a location to be announced, depending on who the six qualifiers are.

No comments: