Tuesday, April 10, 2012

President's Cup update

News just in that the twelve teams in the AFC President's Cup Group Stage (Qualifying Round) have been reduced by one without a ball being kicked. The Bangladesh champions, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi have refused to send their team to Pakistan in Group A, citing security concerns as their reason for dropping out. That means that hosts Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) from Lahore will now host a three-team group alongwith the reigning champions Taiwan Power Company from Chinese Taipei and Erchim, who will represent Mongolia, given a President’s Cup slot from this year onwards filling the void created after Myanmar clubs were granted a place in the AFC Cup.

The other AFC President's Cup groups are:
Group B (held in Cambodia): Phnom Penh Crown (CAM), Dordoi (KGZ), Nepal Police (NEP), Yeezdin (BHU).
Group C (held in Tajikistan): FC Istiklol (TJK), Balkan (TKM), Al Amma’ri Youth (PLE), Ratnam Sports (SRI).
The top two teams in each group will qualify for the final round, which will be played in late September at a location to be announced, depending on who the six qualifiers are.


Anonymous said...

Ratnam Sports withdrew from Group C

Andy Brouwer said...

Anon, thanks for the heads-up. Well spotted :-)